Rebels’ Brown, MSU’s Simmons among Conerly Trophy finalists


Mississippi wide receiver A.J. Brown (1) catches a pass as he is defended by Vanderbilt cornerback Joejuan Williams (8) in the second half of an NCAA college football game Saturday, Nov. 17, 2018, in Nashville, Tenn. Vanderbilt won 36-29 in overtime. (AP Photo/Mark Humphrey)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

JACKSON, Miss. — Mississippi State defensive lineman Jeffery Simmons, Ole Miss receiver A.J. Brown and Southern Mississippi receiver Quez Watkins are among the 10 finalists for the Conerly Trophy.

The Conerly is given each year to the most outstanding college football player in Mississippi. This is the 23rd year for the award, and the winner will be announced on Nov. 27 in Jackson. The featured speaker will be former Ole Miss and New Orleans Saints star Deuce McAllister.

Brown won the Conerly Trophy in 2017.

The other finalists for the award include Alcorn State quarterback Noah Johnson, Belhaven linebacker Denarrius Noel, Delta State quarterback Patrick Shegog, Jackson State kicker and punter Christian Jacquemin, Millsaps linebacker Chandler Coleman, Mississippi College running back Tiberias Lampkin and Mississippi Valley receiver/running back Booker Chambers.

Latest News

More News