This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MEMPHIS, Tenn. – The 63rd Annual AutoZone Liberty Bowl will be played Tuesday,
December 28 at 6:45 p.m. EST and will be televised on ESPN. This marks the first
time in nearly 30 years (1993) the AutoZone Liberty Bowl will be played in one of
ESPN’s prestigious primetime slots. The AutoZone Liberty Bowl’s history of
delivering exciting games and excellent television viewership created the
opportunity for this marquee game date and time.

“Playing in primetime is a terrific opportunity for the AutoZone Liberty Bowl to
showcase two outstanding universities from the SEC and Big 12, the Memphis
community and St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital to a large primetime
national audience,” said Steve Ehrhart, Executive Director of the AutoZone
Liberty Bowl. “The AutoZone Liberty Bowl is thrilled to play our game in this
highly coveted television window as part of ESPN’s bowl game lineup.”

About the AutoZone Liberty Bowl:

  • The AutoZone Liberty Bowl was founded in 1959, making it the seventh
    oldest bowl game in America.
  • 63 different universities have participated in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl.
  • The AutoZone Liberty Bowl’s 63-year history has featured many of college
    football’s most outstanding coaches and players: Bear Bryant, Steve Spurrier,
    Urban Meyer, Dan Mullen, Kirby Smart, Mike Gundy and Heisman Trophy
    winners Ernie Davis, Terry Baker, Doug Flutie and Bo Jackson. As well as
    recent star players such as A. J. Green, Dak Prescott, Anthony Miller, Drew
    Lock and Navy MVP QB Malcolm Perry.