New Shelby County Mayor Lee Harris, commissioners sworn in

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Data pix.
MEMPHIS, Tenn. — Shelby County's new mayor took the oath of office Thursday night, along with the county commissioners who will work with him.

Lee Harris was sworn in as mayor during a ceremony at the Cannon Center. He will resign his position in the state senate.

The Shelby County Commission also has eight new commissioners and is now under Democratic control.

Activist Tami Sawyer is one of the new commissioners and is one of three women on the commission.

Thursday's ceremony included many of the county's incoming elected representatives. Newly elected sheriff Floyd Bonner will be sworn in next week.


Latest News

More News