Panola, Tate and Bolivar counties added to Mississippi mask mandate

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

JACKSON, Miss. — Mississippi Governor Tate Reeves expanded the mask mandate already in 13 counties.

The governor signed a pair of executive orders on Sunday which extends the mask requirement until August 3 and now includes 23 counties.

Reeves had ordered masks be worn in public in 13 counties, including Desoto and Quitman on July 10. The new executive order adds 10 more to that list including Panola, Tate and Bolivar.

The new counties have been identified as being at higher risk for transmission of COVID-19.

“We have to take COVID-19 seriously,” Gov. Reeves said. “This virus is not going away. There are lives on the line.”

The move was met with a mixed reaction from residents in Mid-South counties.

In Senatobia, Scarlet Alexander said he’s opposed to the governor’s mask mandate.

“I don’t think that I should have to wear one,” Alexander said. “I don’t agree with it, and it does go against my rights.”

Carolyn Burnette, who sells produce at the Tate County Farmer’s Market, said she sees far too few people with face masks.

“In order to protect someone else, they should be respectful and comply with this,” she said. “It’s not going to be forever, it’s just for now.”

Read: Executive Order 1508

Read: Executive Order 1509

Latest News

More News