Millions granted to 11 Arkansas airports for improvements

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. —  The Department of Transportation awarded more than $6.5 million to 11 Arkansas airport to pay for upgrades and expansions.

According to the news release, the airports who will receive the funds include the following:

Sharp County Regional Airport, Saline County Regional Airport, Clarendon Municipal Airport, Clinton Municipal Airport, Corning Municipal Airport, De Witt Municipal Airport, Newport Municipal Airport, Russellville Regional Airport, Searcy Municipal Airport, Texarkana Regional-Webb Field and Waldron Municipal Airport.

The grant is expected to help give the state’s economy and infrastructure a boost, said the news release.

“Modern airport infrastructure paves the way for regional growth by allowing local businesses and tourism to flourish,” said Congressman Rick Crawford. ” Our local communities will be well served by these improvements that set the stage for job growth and increase connectivity throughout our state.”

“I am pleased these grants are coming home to Arkansas,” said Congressman Bruce Westerman. ” Without strong infrastructure, we cannot expect our economy to grow. This investment at home will help these communities add jobs and opportunities.”

Latest News

More News