This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — The Memphis mayor’s race was not the only important election in the city on Thursday, as voters also decided all 13 City Council seats.

Incumbent Mayor Jim Strickland won re-election with 62 percent of the votes and though not all incumbents for City Council fared as well as the mayor, most of City Council will be returning.

City Council District 1 will go into a runoff election on Nov. 15, as Rhonda Logan and current council member Sherman Greer both did not hit the 50% threshold to win the seat. District 7 will also have a runoff election Nov. 15 between current council member Berlin Boyd and challenger Michalyn Easter-Thomas.

The Council seat for District 2 was won by incumbent Frank Colvett Jr. District 3 was won by the incumbent Patrice Robinson.

Incumbent Jamita Swearengen won the District 4 seat, and incumbent Worth Morgan won the seat for District 5.

For Council District 6, Edmund Ford Sr. received 65% of votes.

The Council seat for Super District 8-1 was fairly tightly contested with J.B. Smiley Jr. and incumbent Gerre Currie were the top vote-getters with 34% and 27% of votes, respectively.

Super District 8-2 was won by the incumbent council member Cheyenne Johnson. Incumbent Martavius Jones won Super District 8-3.

In Super District 9-1, Chase Carlisle (51%) and Erika Sugarmon (49%) were in a tightly contested race.

The incumbent Ford Canale won re-election in Super District 9-2. Jeff Warren also won the race in Super District 9-3.

Super Districts do not go into runoffs.

Myron Lowery won the race for city court clerk.

The local sales tax referendum that would provide more funds for public safety was passed with 52% voting for the referendum and 48% voting against it.