National Weather Service cancels severe weather warnings for Mississippi

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — The National Weather Service has canceled several severe weather warnings for counties in Mississippi.

Lafayette, Pontotoc, Union, Lee, Tippah, Prentiss, Ittawamba and Alcorn counties were all under a Severe Thunderstorm Warning until 12:30 p.m. Thursday.

A Flash Flood Warning was also issued for Desoto County around the same time.

According to the agency, more than two inches of rain fell in as little as 30 minutes in parts of Desoto County around 10 a.m. Of course, rain continued to accumulate in the area for at least an hour after that estimate. A total rainfall amount has not been released.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.