WREG awarded by national broadcaster’s foundation for ‘Go Jim Go!’

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — WREG News Channel 3 has won a National Association of Broadcasters Leadership Foundation “Service to Community” Award for “Go Jim Go!”

The annual 333-mile bike ride and fundraiser is led by News Channel 3 Meteorologist Jim Jaggers and benefits Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital. During the ride throughout the WREG viewing area, Jim and his co-riders make stops at dozens of schools and other organizations to collect donations for the hospital.

The station-wide project has raised nearly $3 million for Le Bonheur since the first ride in 2006.

“I am humbled to be honored for this project, so near and dear to my heart,” Jaggers said.  “My motivation comes from knowing the children and families of Le Bonheur will benefit from our efforts and the money raised.  This National Award is a credit to the entire ‘Go Jim Go!’ team as well as the many generous Donors.  ‘Go Jim Go!’ is truly a blessing to my life.”

WREG and other winners will be honored June 11 at a ceremony in Washington D.C.

“It uplifts us to be in partnership with such an extraordinary community jewel as Le Bonheur. We are proud of Jim, his posse of riders and delighted to benefit the welfare of the children of Memphis,” added Ron Walter, WREG president and general manager.

The Celebration of Service to America Awards are sponsored and produced by NABLF with major support from the National Association of Broadcasters, Bonneville International and Hearst Television. Sara Evans, Jon Bon Jovi, Sharon Stone, Gary Sinise, Paul Simon, Stevie Wonder, Glenn Close, Jeff Bridges, Quincy Jones, Sir Elton John, Bill Clinton, Laura Bush and Muhammad Ali, among others, have been presented with the Celebration of Service to America Leadership Award at the event.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.