Aretha Franklin among seven announced in Memphis Music Hall of Fame 2018 Induction

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — Seven musical icons were announced Wednesday as the 2018 inductees into the Memphis Music Hall of Fame.

In a fitting tribute to the Queen of Soul, the seventh annual class includes Aretha Franklin, along with The Box Tops, O’Landa Draper, Stax musician Eddie Floyd, radio icon George Klein, rockabilly pioneers The Rock and Roll Trio and 8ball & MJG.

Franklin, who was born in Memphis, died this year.

The 2018 Memphis Music Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held November 1, 2018, at the Cannon Center for the Performing arts.

Including the new inductees, there are 74 individuals on the roster for the Memphis Music Hall of Fame.

John Doyle, executive director of the Memphis Music Hall of Fame, said this year’s inductees “highlight the great diversity if Memphis’ many musical genres.”

More information about this years event can be found at

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.