Tornado watch announced for 18 MS counties and 4 TN counties.

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MEMPHIS, Tenn. — The National Weather Service has announced a tornado watch in 22 counties in the mid-south.

The watch is in effect until 11:00 PM CST.

The 18 counties in Mississippi that includes Alcorn, Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Marshall, Monroe, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Tallahatchie, Tippah, Tishomingo, Union, and Yalobusha.

The 4 Tennessee counties include Chester, Hardeman, Hardin, and McNairy.


Tornado warning has been issued for Pontotoc,  central Webster, northern Choctaw, northern Chickasaw, and northeastern Calhoun counties.