Winner Declared In Democratic Primary For Deberry Seat

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(Memphis) Raumesh Akbari won the special democratic primary election for District 91, which includes Whitehaven and most of south Memphis, with 27.7 percent of the votes.

Akbari is now in the running to take over late State Representative Lois Deberry’s current term.

She will go up against independent James Tomasik in the general election on November 21.

Whoever wins would then have to run again if they want to keep the seat in 2014 during the regular legislative elections.

DeBerry died July 28th at the age of 68 after a battle with pancreatic cancer. She was surrounded by family and friends.

Her career in the legislature was one for the history books.

The south Memphis democrat was elected in 1972. She was re-elected an astounding 20 straight times.

Colleagues respectfully referred to DeBerry as ‘The Mom’ of the Tennessee General Assembly.

Deberry was the longest-serving member of the Tennessee State House of Representatives and the second African-American woman to serve in the Tennessee General Assembly.

She also served as speaker pro tem in the house, and leaders on both sides sought her support pushing through key legislation.

Terica Lamb was the runner-up in the special democratic primary election, with 22.02 percent of the vote. Kemba Ford, Joshua Forbes, Clifford Lewis, Doris Deberry-Bradshaw and Kermit Moore also ran.

There was a total of 1,812 votes.


  • joe

    she abused her privilege by staying in that long…..heres hoping that no one else ever serves that long again


    If by “abused” you mean made sure her community was adequately represented even when she battled cancer, then I agree.

Comments are closed.