Shelby County Parents, Enroll Your Child For Pre-K Classes

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

File image

A total of 37 prekindergarten classrooms will welcome students for the 2013-2014 school year.

The 12 classrooms at school sites and 25 at community centers will give 3,880 pre-K kids the chance to prepare for elementary school.

Space is limited and the time frame to enroll is brief. Priority will be given to families that meet low-income guidelines.

From 8 a.m. until 3 p.m. on certain days (June 11 through June 27), parents must visit one of five school sites. Each site represents a region of the new Shelby County Schools District.

Applications are available in English and Spanish and will be reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis.

To enroll, children must: 

– reside in Memphis or Shelby County
– turn 4  years old on or before August 31 (one month earlier than in previous years as governed by the State of Tennessee), and
– be screened to determine eligibility.

On screening day, parents must bring:

– proof of income,
– a certified birth certificate (plus one copy),
– two proofs of residency,
– the child’s social security card (plus one copy) and
– the child’s health and immunization records on the Tennessee School Form.

For more information about Pre-K enrollment requirements or the screening period, June 11th through the 27th, call the pre-K office at (901) 416-3450 or visit

2013-14 pre-K screening sites, each followed by a list of classroom locations:

June 11 – 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Shelby County Region – Millington Elementary School, 6445 William Osteen Drive

(E. A. Harold Elementary, Highland Oaks Elementary, Lucy Elementary, Millington Elementary, Northhaven Elementary, Oak Elementary, Southwind Elementary)

June 12, 13, 14 – 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Southeast Region – Southwind High School, 7900 East Shelby Drive

(Belle Forest Elementary, Bethel Grove Elementary, Charjean Elementary, Cherokee Cottonwood Head Start, Crump Elementary, Dunbar Elementary, Getwell Elementary, Goodlett Elementary, Hooks Dimmick Childcare Group, Kindercare-Knight Arnold, Kindercare-Ridgeway #1, LaPetite Academy-Riverdale, LaPetite Academy-Hickory Hill, Oak Forest Elementary, Oakhaven Elementary, Riverdale Kiddie, Sharpe Elementary, Sheffield Elementary, Sherwood Elementary, South Park Elementary)

June 17, 18, 19 – 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Northwest Region – Lucie E. Campbell Elementary School, 3232 Birchfield Road

(Brookmeade Elementary, Delano Head Start, Jessie Mahan Child Care Center, Porter Leath Head Start, Red Robin’s Academy, Southwest Tennessee Community College-Union Campus, Bruce Elementary, Caldwell-Guthrie Elementary, Carnes Elementary, Cummings Elementary, Denver Elementary, Earnestine Rivers Elementary, Future Leaders Elementary, Gordon Elementary, Hawkins Mill Elementary, Kindercare-Yale, LaPetite Academy-Coleman, LaRose Elementary, Lucie E. Campbell Elementary, Peabody Elementary, Springdale Elementary, Vollentine Elementary, Westside Elementary)

June 20, 21, 24 – 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Southwest Region – Robert R. Church Elementary School, 4100 Millbranch Road

(A. B. Hill Elementary, Alcy Elementary, Alton Elementary, Doubletree Elementary, Fairley Elementary, Florida Kansas Elementary, Ford Road Elementary, Gardenview Elementary, Hamilton Elementary, Holmes Road Elementary, Horn Lake Elementary, Kings and Queens Day Care Center, Levi Elementary, Lincoln Elementary, Magnolia Elementary, Manor Lake Elementary, Oakshire Elementary, Rianeshaven Elementary, Riverview Elementary, Westhaven Elementary, Westwood Elementary, Whitehaven Elementary)

June 25, 26, 27 – 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Northeast Region – Shelby Oaks Elementary, 6053 Summer Avenue

(Berclair Elementary, Covington Pike Head Start, Kindercare-Cordova, Lambs & Ivy Pre-School, LaPetite Academy-Cordova, Southwest Tennessee Community College-Macon Campus, Coleman Elementary, Douglass Elementary, Jackson Elementary, Keystone Elementary, Kingsbury Elementary, Scenic Hills Elementary, Spring Hill Elementary, Treadwell Elementary, William H. Brewster Elementary)