Tigers’ 1985 Final Four team to be honored

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MEMPHIS, Tenn-(AP)-It’s been 30 years, but the memories are still fresh in the minds of Tiger Nation. And, those memories will be rekindled Saturday when the University of Memphis honors the 1984-85 Tigers basketball squad that advanced to the NCAA Final Four.

The 1984-85 Tigers will be honored at halftime of Saturday’s Memphis-Tulsa game, which is scheduled for a 7 p.m. (CT) start at FedExForum.
For tickets to Saturday’s Memphis-Tulsa game, visit gotigersgotix.com or call the Memphis ticket office at 901-678-2331.
The 1984-85 Tigers, under the guidance of head coach Dana Kirk, posted a 31-4 overall record and a 13-1 Metro Conference mark. Memphis swept the Metro Conference regular-season and tournament titles. The Tigers advanced to the program’s second NCAA Final Four.
The 31 wins were, at the time, a school record, and the 1984-85 squad’s 31-4 record was the first 30-win season in the program’s history. In addition, Memphis was ranked in the top-five of the national polls all but two weeks of that season and climbed as high as No. 3 in the nation. All four setbacks were by seven or fewer points.
Memphis won the Metro Conference Tournament championship with a thrilling 90-86 overtime victory over Florida State and rode that momentum into the NCAA Tournament. After a 12-point victory over Penn in the first round, the Tigers won narrow single-digit decisions over UAB 67-66 in overtime, Boston College 59-57 and Oklahoma 63-61 to advance to the NCAA Final Four.
Keith Lee, a 1985 consensus All-America pick, was the 1985 Metro Conference Player of the Year and an all-league first team selection. William Bedford and Andre Turner, who hit the clutch buzzer-beater jumper to defeat Boston College in the NCAA Sweet Sixteen, were All-Metro second team picks. Vincent Askew was named to the Metro All-Freshman Team.
Lee, Turner and Baskerville Holmes all were selected to the Metro Conference All-Tournament Team.