Tigers go national to open 2014

Tigers University of Memphis Basketball wooden floor

BRISTOL, Conn. – For the fifth time since the event’s inception in November of 2008, the University of Memphis is scheduled to be a part of the annual ESPN 24-hour College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon.

Memphis and Wichita State are slated to play the 1 p.m. (CT)/2 p.m. (ET) contest Nov. 18 on ESPN in Sioux Falls, S.D. The match-up will be played on Heritage Court at the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls. Tickets for the Nov. 18 encounter go on sale Friday, Aug. 8 at 12 p.m. (CT) via ticketmaster.com.

This is the second-straight season the Sanford Pentagon is hosting an NCAA Division I match-up. Last November, Wisconsin defeated St. John’s 86-75.
The November trip to South Dakota will be the first in Tigers basketball history.
The following are a few facts about Memphis’ history in the seventh-annual ESPN 24-hour College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon:

• The Tigers previously played in the event in 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011.
• This November match-up is the second time Memphis played its season opener in the ESPN 24-hour College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon. The other time was in 2011 in the Tigers’ win over Belmont.
• Memphis has a 3-1 record in the ESPN 24-hour College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon.
• The Tigers are 3-0 in home games played in the ESPN 24-hour College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon. Memphis is 0-1 in neutral-site contests.
• The Tigers posted home wins over UMass 80-58 in 2008, Miami (Fla.) 72-68 in 2010 and Belmont 97-81 in 2011.
• Memphis’ lone loss was a narrow 57-55 setback to No. 1 Kansas in St. Louis in 2009.
• Three of the previous four appearances were part of college basketball exempt events (Puerto Rico Tip-Off in 2008; Hall of Fame Showcase in 2009; Maui Invitational in 2011).
• In 2008 and 2010, Memphis tipped off the ESPN 24-hour College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon, playing the first game of the marathon in the 11 p.m. (CT)/12 a.m. (ET) time slot.
• In 2009, the Memphis-Kansas contest closed the marathon with a 9 p.m. (CT)/10 p.m. (ET) game that finished at 11 p.m. (CT)/12 a.m. (ET).
• The 2011 Belmont game is the only Memphis mid-day game in its ESPN 24-hour College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon history. That contest tipped at 11 a.m. (CT)/12 p.m. (ET) at FedExForum.

The Nov. 18 Memphis-Wichita State meeting will be the 20th between the two programs, but the first since the 1982-83 season. The Tigers hold a narrow 10-9 lead in the series. Eleven of the 19 previous match-ups came in the late 1960s through the mid-1970s when Memphis and Wichita State both were Missouri Valley Conference members.

1 Comment

  • Vitaclear

    Vitaclear I’m seriously amazed with all your producing abilities as snugly similar to the actual file format for your site. Is this fact the given concept or even do you adjust this by yourself? Anyways continue being the good quality publishing, it’s unusual to view a fantastic weblog just like it right now.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,055 other followers