Four Finalists For U of M President

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(Memphis) Four finalists for a new president of the University of Memphis have been announced by the search committee.

There were seventy applicants for the job.

· Guy Bailey, professor and former president at the University of Alabama and former president at Texas Tech University;

· Sharon Gaber, provost and vice chancellor for Academic Affairs at the University of Arkansas;

· George W. Hynd, provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs at the College of Charleston;

· David Rudd, provost at the University of Memphis.

Each finalist will visit the U of M campus between March 16-25 to meet with a variety of university groups, including faculty and staff, students, alumni and the community.

A series of campus forums will take place in the University Center River Room #300.

Open receptions for community members, alumni and friends of the university will be scheduled each evening.

From the U of M:

The finalists were screened and selected by the committee from more than 70 applicants around the country.

The committee worked with executive search firm Greenwood/Asher & Associates to identify a broad range of highly qualified candidates.

Thirteen were invited to meet with the committee, and 10 were interviewed. The finalists were selected from that group. The finalists’ resumes are available on the presidential search websites.

The search committee’s charge is to interview and identify the finalists for the position of president. Committee members will also participate in the campus meetings and collect comments from constituents.

Tennessee Board of Regents Chancellor John Morgan will gather feedback from the committee members and other sources and make the final selection for recommendation to the Board for approval within a few weeks after the campus visits.

The University of Memphis is one of Tennessee’s three comprehensive doctoral-extensive institutions of higher learning and one of the largest institutions of the Tennessee Board of Regents system.

Awarding more than 4,000 degrees annually, U of M has 24 Chairs of Excellence, more than any other Tennessee university, and five state-approved Centers of Excellence.