Nine SCS Seniors Named Presidential Scholar Candidates

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(Memphis) Nine Shelby County Schools seniors have been named 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholar Candidates.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, now in its 50th year, is recognized as “one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.”

A total of 3,000 candidates were chosen from an estimated 3.4 million students expected to graduate from U.S. high schools in 2014.

They are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities.

According to a news release from SCS, “In early April, a panel of educators will review the candidates, and 500 semifinalists will be announced. The Commission of Presidential Scholars, a group of up to 32 people appointed by the president, will make the final selection of the actual Presidential Scholars, and the U.S. Department of Education will announce the award recipients in May.”

Presidential Scholars will travel to Washington, D.C. in the summer as guests of the program for National Recognition Weekend.

The weekend culminates in a White House-sponsored event at which the Scholars are awarded the Presidential Medallion.

For more information on the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, visit

The 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars from Shelby County Schools are:

Collierville High School

  • Sandra Ritchie
  • Kevin Sun
  • Holliday Therrell
  • William Yao

Cordova High School

  • Lucas Wade

Houston High School

  • Jeremy McDuffie
  • Ian McLeod
  • Alexander Sobolev

White Station High School

  • Yuqi Zhang

1 Comment

Comments are closed.