Tigers Punter earns national honor

U of M Tigers Memphis

Memphis, TN-The Augusta Sports Council and the Ray Guy Award announced Monday that University of Memphis senior Tom Hornsey is the Ray Guy Award Player of the Week.

Monday’s recognition marked the second time Hornsey had received the award. He was also the inaugural recipient of the honor.

One of 10 semifinalists for the Ray Guy Award which recognizes the nation’s best collegiate punter, Hornsey had six punts for a 46.8 yards per punt average in the Tigers’ 21-6 win over UT Martin on Saturday.

UT Martin did not have an opportunity to return any of Hornsey’s punts, forcing the Skyhawks to have an average starting spot for drives at the 19-yard line.

With Memphis leading just 7-6 at halftime, Hornsey had his three, third-quarter punts fair caught or downed at the 12, 18 and 7 yard lines during the scoreless quarter.

For the season, Hornsey ranks seventh nationally in punting average at 45.2 yards per punt. Memphis 42.49 team net punting average leads FBS football. He has had 17 of his 41 punts downed inside the 20 this season including seven marked inside the 10.

Last Friday Hornsey was announced as one of the 10 semifinalists for the Ray Guy Award. The list of 10 semifinalists will be narrowed to three finalists on Nov. 25. The award will be presented at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN the evening of Dec. 12 at Walt Disney World.

Memphis, 2-6, begins a two-game road swing on Saturday when the Tigers take on USF in Tampa, Fla. Kickoff for Saturday’s game is 6 p.m. Central / 7 p.m. Eastern and will be streamed by ESPN3 at WatchESPN.com.

Earlier on Monday it was announced the Tigers’ Nov. 23rd game at Louisville will kickoff at 11 a.m. Central / 12 noon Eastern. Television for that game will be announced following this weekend’s games.



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,723 other followers